Yucatan Project: Day 5, Merida

Jan 8th: Today we had the opportunity to travel to Merida, modern capital of the Yucatan state. The town has a history stretching back to Spanish Colonial times. At the center, facing the town square is a sixteenth century church attended famously by Pope John Paul the Second. In walking about, my friend Kwan and I befriended a street musician named Rafael. Coincidentally, Rafael is a music teacher and a member of the international Saw-playing foundation. I was struck by how easy absolute strangers can connect here. The people certainly have a certain joy of life, as though they can move on no matter what. A lesson I can certainly take to heart. On another note I attempted to do a bit of night photography. I find that if I open the lens

Merida Cathederal

I can gather as much illumination as possible.

Merida Streetlife
Kwon and Rafael, Pupil and Teacher
Leave a Reply

